Departmental managerial and support functions are handled by the Departmental Secretary's Branch, Personnel Branch, Comptroller's Branch, Departmental Planning and Control Group, Management Analysis Division, Customer Service Group, Contract Administration Branch, the Financial Review Branch and the Legal Adviser.

The following Crown companies and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Ltd., Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation and the Canada Emergency Measures Organization. The Canadian Government Printing Bureau reports to the Minister through the Deputy Minister of Defence Production.

Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (SC 1918, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c. 257); it was amended by SC 1952-53, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct regularly a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.—Under the terms of the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c. 25), the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources supersedes the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys and encompasses certain functions formerly conducted by other departments and agencies. The Department, in addition to its administrative services, is organized into four groups: the Mines and Geosciences Group includes the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Surveys and Mapping Branch and the Observatories Branch, all of which are engaged in research and the provision of information in their respective fields; the Mineral Development Group includes the Mineral Resources Division, which gathers economic data for all minerals for use of government, industry and the public and conducts administrative functions of resource management, the Explosives Division which controls, under the provisions of the Explosives Act, the production and handling of explosives, and the Quebec Regional Office; the Water Group is concerned with all types of water matters including groundwater and oceanic investigations and surveys, water pollution, water power, water conservation and control, and federal-provincial and international studies and regulations; the Energy Development Group recommends and advises on energy policies in the total context of all energy sources and future energy requirements.

The following Crown corporations report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources: the National Energy Board, the Dominion Coal Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited, the Atomic Energy Control Board, Northern Ontario Pipe Line Corporation and the Cape Breton Development Corporation.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by the officers in charge of the various divisions. The divisional heads are each responsible for a part of the work of the Department and they are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, External Affairs Officers, other administrative officers and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. There are 96 diplomatic, consular and other missions maintained abroad by the Department. In 40 additional countries, Canada is represented by non-resident Ambassadors or High Commissioners.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 26 divisions and two units. The divisions may be grouped into three categories—area, functional and administrative. There are six area divisions—African and Middle Eastern, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern, Latin American and United States; 14 functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Cultural Affairs, Defence Liaison (1), Defence Liaison (2), Disarmament, Economic, Historical, Information, Legal, Passport, Press and Liaison, Protocol and United Nations; and six administrative divisions—Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel Operations, Personnel Services, Registry, and Supplies and Properties. The two units are the Inspection Service and the Organization and Methods Unit.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States. The Secretary of State for External Affairs reports to Parliament for the External Aid Office.